Governance & Executive Board

The Shaker Pines Lake Association (SPLA) consists of members who live in certain areas of the lake and are subject to special lake taxes. The SPLA is governed by the original Charter of the Association approved by the General Assembly of the State of Connecticut in 1935 and subsequent revisions. The Charter and By-Laws of the Association are effective and enforced if they do not conflict with the laws and ordinances of the Town of Enfield.

The annual meeting of the Association is held on a Saturday in June decided by the Executive Board, to pass or reject all items or recommendations put forth, either by members of the Executive Board or by the members of the Association.

Any person over 18 years of age who owns real estate within the Association area shall be entitled to one vote at any Annual or Special Meeting of the Association and shall be eligible for any office therein.

The SPLA Executive Board consists of nine (9) elected members from the Association. Board members serve a two year term. Four members of the Executive Board shall be elected on even years and five members shall be elected on odd years.   Each year the new board selects Officers consisting of a President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. A Tax Collector is elected each year and serves a one year term. 

The Board meets on the first Tuesday of each month. Minutes are made available on the Home Page after they are voted on.  The Board has the full power to execute all contracts, rules, and other matters pertaining to the lake and other properties owned by the Association, as adopted by said Association.